The main building is the red barn, orginally constructed in 1914 as a dairy. Over the decades, it fell into disrepair and would have been lost had a dream of local citizens not seen it's potential to become a great place to house the rich history of our valley. The barn, purchased by Basil and Tene Brooke in December 1950, was given by them in 1991 for the museum. With the help of volunteers, the barn was restored to its former glory and opened in 1995. Over the years, an addition was added to the barn, a blacksmith shop brought in, and the Jardine building constructed. More than 10,000 artifacts are on display. Photos, old newspapers, and a variety of documents are available for viewing and research. The museum continues to be operated by volunteers and relies on donations, memberships and grants to cover expenses and improvements.